ghost_of_nettime_past on Thu, 10 Feb 2000 20:16:35 +0100 (CET)

[Date Prev] [Date Next] [Thread Prev] [Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

<nettime> (fwd) EFF Seeking Pioneers of the Electronic Frontier

Call for Nominations:
The Ninth Annual International EFF Pioneer Awards

       Please redistribute this notice in appropriate fora

In every field of human endeavor, there are those dedicated to expanding
knowledge, freedom, efficiency, and utility.  Many of today's brightest
innovators are working along the electronic frontier. To recognize these
leaders, the Electronic Frontier Foundation established the Pioneer Awards
for deserving individuals and organizations. 

The Pioneer Awards are international and nominations are open to all.  The
deadline for nominations this year is March 15, 2000 (see nomination
criteria and instructions below). 

The 2000 AWARDS

The Ninth Annual EFF Pioneer Awards will be presented in Toronto, Canada,
at the 10th Conference on Computers, Freedom, and Privacy (see  The ceremony will be held on the evening of
April 6, 2000.  All nominations will be reviewed by a panel of judges
chaired by Dave Farber, FCC Chief Technologist and long time EFF
Boardmember, and chosen for their knowledge of the technical, legal, and
social issues associated with information technology. 

This year's EFF Pioneer Awards judges are:

 - Herb Brody, Senior Editor, Technology Review
 - Dave Farber, Chief Technologist, FCC
 - Moira Gunn, Host, Tech Nation, NPR
 - Larry Irving, CEO,
 - Tara Lemmey, Executive Director, EFF
 - Peter G. Neumann, Principal Scientist, Computer Science
    Lab, SRI International and Moderator, ACM Risks Forum
 - Susan H. Nycum, Partner, Baker & McKenzie
 - Drazen Pantic, NYU Center for War, Peace, & the News Media
 - Barbara Simons, President, ACM


There are no specific categories for the EFF Pioneer Awards, but the
following guidelines apply: 

1. The nominees must have made a substantial contribution to the health,
growth, accessibility, or freedom of computer-based communications. 

2. The contribution may be technical, social, economic, or cultural. 

3. Nominations may be of individuals, systems, or organizations in the
private or public sectors. 

4. Nominations are open to all, and you may nominate more than one
recipient.  You may nominate yourself or your organization. 

5. All nominations, to be valid, must contain your reasons, however brief,
for nominating the individual or organization, along with a means of
contacting the nominee, and your own contact number.  Anonymous
nominations will be allowed, but we prefer to be able to contact the
nominating parties in the event that we need further information. 

6. Every person or organization, with the single exception of EFF staff
members, is eligible for an EFF Pioneer Award. 

7. Persons or representatives of organizations receiving an EFF Pioneer
Award will be invited to attend the ceremony at the Foundation's expense. 

You may send as many nominations as you wish, but please use one e-mail
per nomination.  Submit all entries to:

Just tell us: 

1. The name of the nominee; 

2. The phone number or e-mail address at which the nominee can be reached; 
and, most importantly,

3. Why you feel the nominee deserves the award; 

You may attach supporting documentation in Microsoft Word or other
standard binary formats. 


1992: Douglas C. Engelbart, Robert Kahn, Jim Warren, Tom Jennings, and
Andrzej Smereczynski; 1993: Paul Baran, Vinton Cerf, Ward Christensen,
Dave Hughes and the USENET software developers, represented by the
software's originators Tom Truscott and Jim Ellis; 1994: Ivan Sutherland,
Whitfield Diffie and Martin Hellman, Murray Turoff and Starr Roxanne
Hiltz, Lee Felsenstein, Bill Atkinson, and the WELL;  1995: Philip
Zimmermann, Anita Borg, and Willis Ware; 1996: Robert Metcalfe, Peter
Neumann, Shabbir Safdar and Matthew Blaze;  1997: Marc Rotenberg, Johan
"Julf" Helsingius, and (special honorees) Hedy Lamarr and George Antheil;
1998: Richard Stallman, Linus Torvalds, and Barbara Simons; 1999: Jon
Postel, Drazen Pantic, and Simon Davies. 

See for further information.


The Electronic Frontier Foundation ( is a global
nonprofit organization linking technical architectures with legal
frameworks to support the rights of individuals in an open society. 
Founded in 1990, EFF actively encourages and challenges industry and
government to support free expression, privacy, and openness in the
information society.  EFF is a member-supported organization and maintains
one of the most-linked-to Web sites in the world. 

#  distributed via <nettime>: no commercial use without permission
#  <nettime> is a moderated mailing list for net criticism,
#  collaborative text filtering and cultural politics of the nets
#  more info: and "info nettime-l" in the msg body
#  archive: contact: